

BOARD OF EDUCATION of SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 36 (SURREY)

Board Committees & Trustee Representation December 2024 - November 2025

STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION		
FINANCE COMMITTEE	Chairperson: Terry Allen Members: All Trustees	
AUDIT & RISK COMMITTEE	Chairperson: Bob Holmes Members: Terry Allen Shawn Wilson <i>Alternate:</i> Gary Tymoschuk	
POLICY COMMITTEE	Chairperson: Shawn Wilson Members: Gary Tymoschuk Garry Thind <i>Alternate</i> Bob Holmes	

STAKEHOLDERS & ELECTED OFFICIALS LIAISON MEETINGS

Meetings are held at least annually with the groups identified below. The planned meetings permit the groups to meet collectively with trustees and senior management to discuss issues and concerns having a district-wide interest.

CUPE LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
DPAC LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
EPEG LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
SPVPA LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
STA LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
STUDENT LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
KATZIE FIRST NATION LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
SEMIAHMOO FIRST NATION LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
CITY OF SURREY LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
CITY OF WHITE ROCK LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
MLAs LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
MPs LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees



Trustee Responsibilities as Board Representatives

- Report out on committee activities.
- Committee minutes to be forwarded by the Committee Chair to the Secretary Treasurer's Department for inclusion in the Trustees' Information Bulletin.
- Refer to Board Policy 2320 Board Committees & Trustee Representation for additional guidance.

DISTRICT COMMITTEES

STUDENT VOICE COMMITTEE (IDEAS 36)

This committee includes student representatives from each secondary school and focuses on student leadership.

Trustee: Laurie Larsen

Alternate: Laurae McNally

Staff Contact: Kristi Blakeway

DISTRICT COMMITTEES cont'd...

ABORIGINAL EDUCATION COUNCIL

This Council meets four (4) times a year to discuss program needs, enrollment, location, facilities and other relevant issues, and make recommendations to the Board.

Composition:

- 1 District Principal for Aboriginal Education (Chair)
- 1 trustee
- 1 senior management representative

Representative(s) from:

Katzie First Nation, Metis Nation BC, Semiahmoo first Nation (1 each)

PRINCIPAL & VICE-PRINCIPAL SELECTION COMMITTEES

Kekinow Native Housing Society (1)

CUPE, SPVPA, STA representatives (1 each)

Parents, Aboriginal Community (5)

Aboriginal Elder (1)

Summer School Principals

Trustee: Laurae McNally Alternate: Terry Allen Staff Contact: Lyn Daniels

Trustee: Gary Tymoschuk

Alternate: Laurie Larsen

PRINCIPAL & VICE-PRINCIPAL SELECTION CONINITITEES		
	Staff Contact:	Lynda Reeve
Elementary Vice-Principals	Trustee:	Laurae McNally
	Alternate:	Garry Thind
Elementary Principals	Trustee:	Shawn Wilson
	Alternate:	Laurae McNally
Secondary Vice-Principals	Trustee:	Garry Thind
	Alternate:	Gary Tymoschuk
Secondary Principals	Trustee:	Bob Holmes
	Alternate:	Laurie Larsen
District Principals	Trustee:	Laurie Larsen
	Alternate:	Bob Holmes
Learning Centre & Continuing Education	Trustee:	Gary Tymoschuk
	Alternate:	Shawn Wilson



TRUSTEE REPRESENTATION ON EXTERNAL COMMITTEES		
BCPSEA - BC Public School Employers Association	Trustee: Alternate	Terry Allen Gary Tymoschuk
BCSTA - Lower Mainland E.L.L. Consortium		Garry Thind Laurae McNally
BCSTA - Provincial Council Representative	Trustee: <i>Alternate:</i>	Laurae McNally Garry Thind
The following are appointments by the BCSTA:		
BCSTA Director	Trustee:	Bob Holmes
BCSTA - Credentials Committee	Trustee:	Bob Holmes
BCSTA - Teacher Qualification Board	Trustee:	Laurae McNally
BCSTA Finance & Audit Committee	Trustee:	Bob Holmes
City of Surrey - Parks, Recreation & Culture (PRCC)		Laurie Larsen Terry Allen
DPAC - District Parent Advisory Council Liaison		Bob Holmes Gary Tymoschuk
SBOT - Surrey Board of Trade Policy & Education		Gary Tymoschuk Garry Thind

AD-HOC COMMITTEES

From time to time, Ad-hoc committees are established to address emergent issues. When such need arises, Executive Committee will appoint a chairperson, and will request through the Board Chair that a trustee representative be appointed. Additional representation of partner groups will be determined with the Board and Executive Committee.

SCHOOL NAMING COMMITTEE Trustee: Laurie Larsen

Trustee: Terry Allen

Alternate: Shawn Wilson